Elton John opened up this his crowd Wednesday night at Staples Center in Los Angeles and explained why you’ll never see him again on tour.

In the middle of his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road‘ concert stop this week he told the crowd “The reason I’m stopping is because my life has changed now, I have beautiful children. I want to be with them.  It’s not that I’m never going to play again, I am going to play, but I don’t know when.  But I’m never going to tour.”

Then he thanked his adoring fans for sticking by his side for the last 50 years saying “You bought the 45s, the albums, the 8-Tracks, the cassettes, the CDs, the DVDs, the merchandise, but most important of all, you’ve bought the tickets to the shows”

John went on to play all his big hits during the 3 hour concert. The setlist was as follows:

  1. Bennie and the Jets
  2. All the Girls Love Alice
  3. I Guess That’s Why They Call It the Blues
  4. Border Song
  5. Tiny Dancer
  6. Philadelphia Freedom
  7. Indian Sunset
  8. Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going to Be a Long, Long Time)
  9. Take Me to the Pilot
  10. Someone Saved My Life Tonight
  11. Levon
  12. Candle in the Wind
  13. Funeral for a Friend/Love Lies Bleeding
  14. Burn Down the Mission
  15. Believe
  16. Daniel
  17. Sad Songs (Say So Much)
  18. Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me
  19. The Bitch Is Back
  20. I’m Still Standing
  21. Crocodile Rock
  22. Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting

Of course, ‘Candle in the Wind‘ was a highlight, accompanied by a video montage of Marilyn Monroe in the background as his moving piano made it’s way across the stage.

At the end of the evening, Elton made an over-the-top exit by hoping on an electronic lift that carried him off the stage and into the stars as he waved goodbye.

Elton will be on tour throughout the rest of the year and into 2020 before officially hanging up the towel. Here’s where you can find this schedule to catch him one last time.

Elton John in All Red